Notable Quotables.

Day 4, Saturday: Favorite quote (from a person, from a book, etc) and why you love it

Let me just start this post by saying how much easier I thought this was going to be. For those of you that know me very personally, you know that I have kept quote notebooks. I hate quite a few of them, and the majority of them are FILLED with quotes.

Image

Movie quotes, book quotes, quotes I made up, quotes people have said to me, basically just important words in my life. I woke up early this morning around 8:00, and it has taken me a good two hours, scouring my quote notebooks, Pinterest boards, files on my computer, and every other sort of media of quotes I have, to find one that I am finally “happy” with. I think if I had been writing this about 3 months ago, I would have found some “lovey dovey soulmate” kind of quote, but that’s not how I feel right now. Not that there is anything WRONG with that, but I have been going through some big life changes and transitions lately, and I think this quote fits me quite well. I think a lot of us get caught up in the great race of life, trying to be the prettiest, the smartest, the most athletic, the most fashionable, the mom that can do everything, the perfect wife, the best co-worker, everything! I think people can get caught up in life, and really loose sight of themselves. Something that I have learned through myself these past few months, is that I need to listen to myself, trust myself, and believe in myself, and if I am happy, everything else will fall into place. Who knows, maybe if I were to re-write this again in another 6 months or a year, I would for sure pick a different quote. But at this time, this is exactly what I need, and exactly what I’m feeling. And that’s fine with me, and I think that’s all I really need.

 

Image

I love to surround myself with inspirational words, they really help me think and get motivated. They make me think more critically than I normally would, and challenge myself to live the way I aspire to. Sometimes it can be hard listening to all the voices and words that the media throws at us, but once you find the right words, whether in reading, writing, or speech, they really can mean the world to you.

Image

Standard

Leave a Reply

