I’mma Do Me

Day 6, Monday: If you couldn’t answer with your job, how would you answer the question, ‘what do you do’?

Well, I am a college student, so it’s hard to answer this question without saying “I go to school” or talk about my semi-time (recently it has been more than part time less than full time, haha) job here at school, because both of these things have become a huge part of my life. But I guess I will do my best to avoid those two things, and let you all know “what I do”.

I plan. I am the most planning person you know. This is not to say that I can’t be spontaneous or whatever, but I have learned with me, I need a schedule, and that I need to stick to it. Sometimes I love it, and sometimes I hate it, but it helps me more than hurts me, so I continue to do it. This is my planner on a weekly basis…colored coded and all.

Image

I spend a lot of time alone. Whether it is studying, or going to the gym, or just sitting around at home watching TV, I am usually by myself. I know overall I am an extroverted person, but everyone needs their introvert time. It can get exhausting being around people so much, and things like that I find that I need to just do what I want, and so I spend that time alone so I can accomplish what I need to do. Sounds selfish, but it’s not.

I try to be there for those that I love. I know everyone in this world has such a busy schedule, but whenever the people that I love the most really need it, I try to be there as much as possible. Whether it is to lend some laundry money (my little brother), pick up an extra shift (for my coworkers), Facetime with a friend who lives faraway, or just have a partner in crime to hang out with, I will always be there.

I sing. NOT WELL and NOT SERIOUSLY. I sing in the shower. I sing when I’m getting ready. I sing when I’m home alone. I sing when I dance around in my underwear. Actually. I do that. It is a real thing. And I love every second of it.

I dream. I dream a lot. I dream about next week. And next month. And this summer. And my college graduation (I also dread it though). I dream of my life after college. I dream of living in my studio apartment in some big city sitting alone on Saturday mornings drinking coffee in my underwear and then venturing off into an adventure in the city (Hence the word, DREAM). I dream of the day I am finally working in a high school as a guidance counselor helping kids get to the best four years of their lives like I had.

I laugh. Whether it is laughing with my friends, being goofy, or telling a joke (I have some super funny penguin jokes) I am always busting a gut at something or the other. I try to smile as much as possible. After going through some pretty tough stuff in my life, I’ve learned that no one wants to be around you if you’re constantly sad. There is just no reason for it.

Image

so yeah, I guess that sums it up for now. I hope ya’ll enjoyed learning what I “do”.

Image

Standard

Leave a Reply

